To Be Part of the Solution…

By April 10, the Mayor and the City Council must appoint the 9 member Selection Panel of Oakland residents who will, in turn, choose 4 of the 7 Police Commissioners and 1 of the 2 Alternate Commissioners.  Every Oakland resident is eligible to apply to be a member of this Selection Panel.

Ideally, applicants should be long-term residents of Oakland who have sound judgment, appropriate life experience, independence, courage and good listening skills.  Selection Panel members will need to be available to discharge the function of designing the application process for Commissioners, reviewing the applications, interviewing candidates and making their choices between April 11 and the end of August (based on Measure LL requirements).

To apply: contact your  Council member or Mayor Schaaf: (email addresses below)

Mayor Schaaf    lschaaf@oaklandnet.com
District 1   Dan Kalb    dkalb@oaklandnet.com
District 2   Abel Guillen   aguillen@oaklandnet.com
District 3   Lynette McElhaney   lmcelhaney@oaklandnet.com
District 4   Anne Campbell-Washington  acampbellwashington@oaklandnet.com
District 5   Noel Gallo  ngallo@oaklandnet.com
District 6  Desley Brooks  dbrooks@oaklandnet.com
District 7  Larry Reid  lreid@oaklandnet.com
At-Large: Rebecca Kaplan  rkaplan@oaklandnet.com

Published by

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: